Welcome to Eircooled
Our Ethos is simple; We promote, maintain, and encourage the use of classic aircooled vehicles. We run the club in an open, inclusive, and democratic environment. We encourage all members to have an equal say and part to play in the club.
Register

Intro/blast from the past

Camvolks

October 20, 2017
Hi all, My name is Eoin Campbell, son of a man well known to the scene before his death, George Campbell. He was the owner of Camvolks in Clane, Co. Kildare. Im now 31 and have been looking out for one of his cars for years. While this wasn't his per-say, I believe it was in his garage at the time of his death. The car was promptly removed and has sat in a dry shed for over 20 years. Its funny how car sometimes find you and not the other way around, or at least to be my experience anyway. As fate would have it I have been working for VW for the last 7 years and have restored a 1991 BMW E30 that ive been using as a daily for the last 5 years.

This car is a 1966 1300 6v originally from Cornwall in the U.K. The car was dry stored thankfully but the heater channels are toast so im going to have to teach myself how to Mig weld ha! Engine is period correct according to the engine number,and I believe to be original, alas its missing the carburetor.

I Hope to restore this beetle myself of the next year or so, time is at premium as my wife has just given birth to out first daughter. My plans are to remove the body and replace the rotten heater channels and floor pans, get the engine running and redo all brake lines,suspension etc..... I love the fact the paint is for the most part original so my plan would be to make sure the chassis and rot are fixed properly and retain the "patina" on the body,add some chrome fuchs and give it a slight tap of the lowering stick.

Ill en-devour to keep this thread up to date, there will also be a few parts ill need along the way so I wont be afraid to ask.

Happy to be a part of this great community and forum!